The Brunsden Medal

The IAG may confer this award to recognise sustained and outstanding service to geomorphology by an individual or organisation, in accordance with the objectives of IAG as outlined in the constitution.

This award is named in honour of Professor Denys Brusnden who was the primary instigator of the International Association of Geomorphologists. He was the first president of IAG (1989-1993), became an Honorary Fellow in 1997 and has maintained his efforts on behalf of the Association throughout his entire career. The award was initiated at the Executive Committee in Addis Ababa, 22 February 2011 and agreed to at the IAG Executive meeting held in Vienna, April 21, 2012. The award was assigned for the first time in Paris on 27 August, 2013.

For more info read the IAG Awards: purpose and policy




New Delhi 2017:

Zbigniew Zwoliński (Poland)
Instytut Geoekologii i Geoinformacji, Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu, Poland
Paris 2013:

Mauro Soldati (Italy)
Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy