MINUTES

IAG/AIG EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

Saturday, 31 August, 2013; 11:00-12:00 Centre des Congrès de la Villette, Cité des Sciences et de l'Industrie, Paris

1. Apologies

Emmanuel Reynard and Xiaoping Yang

2. Welcome and Congratulations

Eric FOUACHE (newly elected President) welcomed and congratulated the newly elected members: Mauro SOLDATI (Vice President), Irasema ALCANTARA-AYALA (Vice President), Xiaoping YANG (Vice President), Sunil Kumar DE (Secretary General), Morgan DE DAPPER (Treasurer) and Emmanuel REYNARD (Publications Officer).

3. Distribution of Portfolios to the elected members

The following portfolios have been allotted by the EC to all elected members:

Vice Presidents

- Irasema Alcantara-Ayala (Mexico): International Relations and communication promoting Latin America
- Mauro Soldati (Italy): Training Strategy and Young Geomorphologists
- Xiaoping Yang (China): Working Groups. Asia and Pacific

Secretary General

- Sunil Kumar De (India): (International Conference 2017)

Treasurer

- Morgan De Dapper (Belgium)

Publications Officer

- Emmanuel Reynard (Switzerland): Newsletter

4. Co-option and responsibilities/portfolios

The elected members have unanimously decided to co-opt the following members with individual responsibilities/ portfolios:

Co-Opted Members:

- Asma Mohamed Alketbi (UAE): Regional Group Middle East
- Asfawossen Asrat (Ethiopia): Africa Creation of African Regional Groups
- Denis Mercier (France): Fund Raising
- Piotr Migon (Poland): IUCN
- Andrey Panin (Russia): Regional Conference 2015

- Marta Della Seta (Italy): Website and training
- Heather Viles (UK): International Editors

5. Working Groups (2013-2017)

At the 8th IAG conference in Paris, August 2013, the IAG Council decided about the following: (a) approved four proposal for new working groups within IAG, (b) ratified one working group provisionally approved during the term 2009-2013, (c) approved extension of activity of nine groups from the previous term.

New Working Groups and their convenors:

- **Dendrogeomorphology**: Markus STOFFEL (Switzerland)
- Landform Assessment for Geodiversity: Zbigniew ZWOLIŃSKI (Poland) and Marco GIARDINO (Italy)
- Submarine Geomorphology: Vassilios KAPSIMALIS (Greece) and Aaron MICALLEF (Malta)
- Tectonic Geomorphology: Paola FREDI (Italy)

Ratified Working Groups and their convenors:

• Extreme Events in Geomorphology: Samuel ETIENNE (France)

Continuing Working Groups and their convenors:

- Red Beds and Danxia Geomorphology: PENG Hua (China)
- Geoarcheology: Kosmas PAVLOPOULOS (Greece), Stéphane DESRUELLES, Vanessa HEYVAERT and Yasuhisa KONDO
- Geomorphological Hazards: Irasema ALCANTARA-AYALA (Mexico) and Sunil Kumar DE (India)
- Geomorphosites: Emmanuel REYNARD (Switzerland) and Paola CORATZA
- Planetary Geomorphology: Mary BOURKE (Ireland)
- REEForm: Reef and reef landform responses to climatic and environmental change: Chris PERRY (UK)
- Rocky Coasts Geomorphology: David KENNEDY (Australia) and Wayne STEPHENSON (New Zealand)
- SEDIBUD, Sediment Budgets in Cold Environments: Achim BEYLICH (Norway)
- Tropical Rivers: Edgardo LATRUBESSE (Argentina/USA)

6. Future activities

Eric Fouache stressed upon the following future activities and the rest of the members supported it:

- The first priority will be given to formulate a legal base of the IAG/AIG

- To define MOUs clearly with other institutions EGU, INQUA, etc. A common format may be framed for defining so.
- To bring back the lost scientific members. Secretary is requested to establish relationship as well as to keep regular touch with all the national delegates.
- To establish contacts with IAEG (International Association of Engineering Geology).
- To strengthen the link between IGU and IAG.

7. Other issues to be addressed

An American may be co-opted to look after the Geomorph-List at the next EC meeting.

8. Young Geomorphologists

Decision taken to support two PhD students in Geomorphology from Europe (except UK) to participate in the BGS Post-graduate Training Workshop to be held in Windsor in December 2013 (budget devoted 600 euros).

9. Next EC meeting

The members of the EC Meeting have unanimously decided that the next EC meeting will be held at Vienna after the EGU Conference. The EGU will be held during 27th April-2nd May, 2014. This would be a full EC meeting. Eric Fouache propsed one EC meeting should be held at AbuDhabi in future.

10. EC-Members contacts

Eric FOUACHE: eric.g.fouache@wanadoo.fr

Mauro SOLDATI: soldati@unimore.it

Irasema ALCANTARA AYALA: irasema@igg.unam.mx

Xiaoping YANG: xpyang@mail.iqcas.ac.cn

Sunil Kumar DE: desunil@yahoo.com

Morgan DE DAPPER: morgan.dedapper@UGent.be Emmanuel REYNARD: Emmanuel.Reynard@unil.ch

Asma Mohamed ALKETBI: asma@uaeu.ac.ae
Asfawossen ASRAT: asfawossena@gmail.com
Denis MERCIER: denis.mercier@univ-nantes.fr

Piotr MIGON: piotr.migon@uni.wroc.pl Andrey PANIN: a.v.panin@yandex.ru

Marta Della SETA: marta.dellaseta@uniroma1.it
Heather VILES: heather.viles@ouce.ox.ac.uk