

#### Executive Committee 2017-2022

President

Mauro SOLDATI University of Modena and Reggio Emilia Modena, Italy soldati@unimore.it

#### Vice-Presidents

Susan CONWAY National Centre for Scientific Research Nantes, France susan.conway@univ-nantes.fr

Sunil Kumar DE North-Eastern Hill University Meghalaya, India desunil@yahoo.com

Francisco GUTIÉRREZ University of Zaragoza Zaragoza, Spain fgutier@unizar.es

#### Secretary General

Mihai MICU Romanian Academy Bucharest, Romania secretary@geomorph.org

#### Treasurer

Emmanuel REYNARD University of Lausanne Lausanne, Switzerland emmanuel.reynard@unil.ch

#### Publication Officer

Kosmas PAVLOPOULOS Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi, UAE kosmas.pavlopoulos@psuad.ac.ae

### Co-opted Members

Andrea CORONATO Austral Center for Scientific Research CADIC-CONICET Ushuaia, Argentina andrea.coronato@gmail.com Marta DELLA SETA Sapienza University Rome, Italy marta.dellaseta@uniroma1.it Allan JAMES University of South Carolina, Columbia, USA ajames@mailbox.sc.edu Takashi OGUCHI University of Tokyo Tokyo, Japan oguchi@csis.u-tokyo.ac.jp Piotr MIGON University of Wroclaw Wroclaw, Poland piotr.migon@uwr.edu.pl Ghislain ZANGMO TEFOGOUM University of Maroua Maroua Cameroon zangmotefogoum@gmail.com

#### Special Portfolio Members

Lucio CUNHA University of Coimbra Coimbra, Portugal luciogeo@fl.uc.pt Katja LAUTE Geomorphological Field Laboratory Selbustrand, Norway katja.laute@geofieldlab.com Adel SEPEHR Ferdowsi University of Mashhad Mashhad, Iran adelsepehr@aol.com Konstantinos VOUVALIDIS Aristotle University Thessaloniki Greece vouval@geo.auth.gr

# **International Association of Geomorphologists**

## MINUTES

## of the IAG Council Meetings at the IAG ICG2022

12 and 15 September 2022, 17:30 WEST (UTC+1) Venue: Sala Conventual - C1D, Convento São Francisco Av. da Guarda Inglesa 1a 3040-193 Coimbra

During the 10<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Geomorphology (Coimbra, Portugal), two complementary Council Meetings with physical presence were organized (on September 12th and 15th), focusing on the final reports of the 2017-2022 IAG Executive Committee and on the nominations and election of the 2022-2026 Executive Committee and the future Regional and International Conferences.

Because of some overlaps with thematic sessions, the first meeting was attended by 29 National Delegates (Argentina, ANZGG, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czechia, France, GeoNorth, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkiye, USA, UK), while the second by 31 (Argentina, ANZGG, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czechia, France, GeoNorth, Greece, Hungary, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkiye, USA, UK).

The first part of the First Council was devoted to detailed final reports of major IAG EC portfolios (Communication, Co-operation and Outreach; National Scientific Members; Working Groups; Training Programme; Roots and History; Treasury). Three new WGs were presented and the Council was asked for approval (*Virtual field trips in Geomorphology, Andean Geomorphology, Dynamic geodiversity of critical zones in mountain and polar regions: from nature to culture - DYNAgeoZONES*). The importance of official NSMs documents (application form and collaboration agreement) was once more outlined, and efforts to urge the complete receiving of all documents have to be made. The affiliation of Togo was ratified by the Council, as the 18th National Scientific Member adhering to the IAG during the term 2017-2022.

The second part of the meeting was devoted to the official presentation of the 2022-2026 IAG EC Nominees: Sunil Kumar De (India) for President, presented by S. Das, National Delegate present on site; Susan Conway (UK) for President, presented online by H. Viles, British Society for Geomorphology President; Andrea Coronato (Argentina) for Vice-President, presented by J. Rabassa, National Delegate present on site; Mihai Micu (Romania) for Vice-President, presented by M. Voiculescu, National Delegate present on site; Takashi Oguchi (Japan) for Vice-President, presented by Y. Kodama, National Delegate present on site; Baotian Pan (China) for Vice-President, introduced by H.Q. Huang, President of the Geographical Society of China, via a presentation read by M. Soldati (in absence of H.Q. Huang); Francisco Gutiérrez (Spain) for Treasurer, self introduced; Achim A. Beylich (Norway) for Secretary-General, presented by S. Winkler, National Delegate present on site; Katja Laute (GeoNorth) for Officer, presented by T. Saemundsson via a letter read by M.

The bids for the next IAG RCG and ICG were presented: RCG 2025 Romania by Mihai Micu (outlining that, because of the ongoing conflict taking place close to the eastern border of Romania, the location will be established at a later date - 2023, considering all the implications for the safety of the participants, and several locations are available) and ICG 2026 New Zealand (Christchurch) by Ian Fuller and Sam McColl.

The Second Council was devoted mainly to the voting procedures. Before starting the voting, M. Soldati asked for the approval of the Council to add a new point in the agenda: the offer of the Turkish Society for Geomorphology to host an IAG RCG. The proposal was accepted unanimously. Also considering the withdrawal of Iran from the organization of the RCG to be held in Mashhad (as announced by the LOC, based on the evaluation of the internal situation), Turkiye was allowed to present (by C. Yildirim) its bid.

Not being candidates for the next IAG EC, M. Soldati, M. Della Seta and K. Vouvalidis were appointed to count and validate the votes. A total number of 41 NSMs exerted the right to vote (out of which, 13 votes were received in advance, via email). A number of three votes in advance were not validated (two NSMs not financially eligible and one sent after the deadline). The vote counting finished with the following results: S.K. De 21 votes, S. Conway 20, A. Coronato 30, M. Micu 40, T. Oguchi 33, B. Pan 3, A. Beylich 41, F. Gutiérrez 41, K. Laute 41.

## Decisions

• Three new WGs were approved (*Virtual field trips in Geomorphology, Andean Geomorphology, Dynamic geodiversity of critical zones in mountain and polar regions: from nature to culture – DYNAgeoZONES;* with a unanimous decision to shorten the DYNAgeoZONES full name).

• One new National Scientific Member was ratified after the formal approval of the Executive Committee: Togo.

• The 2022-2026 IAG EC has the following componence: S.K. De (President), A. Coronato, M. Micu, T. Oguchi (Vice-Presidents), A.A. Beylich (Secretary General), K. Laute (Officer).

• The next IAG meetings (approved unanimously) will be as follows: RCG 2023 Turkiye (Cappadocia), RCG 2025 Romania (to be decided, according to the geopolitical evolution), ICG 2026 New Zealand (Christchurch).

**IAG President** 

Menfalli

IAG Secretary General

Prof. Mauro SOLDATI

Dr. Mihai MICU

Date: 18 09 2022