of the IAG/AIG Executive Committee


In charge of International Relations and communication promoting Latin America

iaa2Former Director and current Professor and Researcher of the Institute of Geography at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). She got a degree in Geography from UNAM, a Ph.D. degree in Geography/Geomorphology from King´s College London, University of London, and carried out a post-doc stay at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston. Her research interest is concentrated on landslides, vulnerability and integrated disaster risk. She is a former member of the Committee of Scientific Planning and Review (CSPR) of the International Council for Science (ICSU).

Chair of the Geomorphological Hazards Working Group of the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG). Ex-President of the Mexican Society of Geomorphology and past Vice-President of the International Geographical Union (IGU). Member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences. Young Affiliate Fellow of the Academy of Sciences for the developing world (TWAS), Vice-President of the International Consortium on Landslides (ICL), and member of the Scientific Committee of the Integrated Research on Disaster Risk (IRDR) Programme of ICSU. She has published numerous peer reviewed papers and book chapters, as well as presented her work at several dozens of international meetings in the five continents. Her work has been widely recognized with several awards including the 3rd Evelyn Pruitt Lecture (2005) by the Department of Geography and Anthropology, Louisiana State University, USA; TWAS-ROLAC Prize for Young Scientists 2011; and Mexican Academy of Sciences Prize for Young Scientists 2012, among others.



Investigadora Titular B

Riesgo de Desastres

Instituto de Geografía

Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)

Ciudad Universitaria

04510 Coyoacan

México, D.F.


Vox: (+5255) 5622 4335 / 5623 0222 ext. 45466

Skype: ira.007